Adventure · Fantasy · Middle Grade · Uncategorized

Book Review: Furthermore

img_20170228_140135_1

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Title: Furthermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Series: None

Genre: Fantasy, Children/Middle Grade, Magic, Adventure

ISBN: 9781101994764

Publishing Date: August 30,2016

 

img_20170228_140328_1

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. It will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Visit “Furthermore” on Goodreads

img_20170228_140350_1_1

 “Why must you look like the rest of us? Why do you have to be the one to change? Change the way we see. Don’t change the way you are.”

This is the first middle grade book and first Tahereh Mafi book that I’ve read and I loved it so much. It definitely unleashed the inner child in me.

First of all, the cover of this book is so amazing and it really fits with the story. This was really a cover buy for me. When I saw this at our local bookstore I was like:

Wait, hold up! What a beautiful book! I need to buy it ASAP!

And I did ended up buying it and so thankful that I didn’t regret it.

So moving on to my review, this book was really weird but at the same time so amazing. There was so much going on in this book that literally swept me off my feet. I can imagine in my mind a world where magic just exploded all over. I was really impressed on how Tahereh Mafi depicted this world.

The characters were amazing especially the main character, Alice, because she really has a serious self issue. Like seriously! Which is amazing because it is what makes her more believable and more real. And in the end, she found out things about herself and what other thinks about her that made her into what she is in the end of the book. She is a bubbly character but still like any beings, she can feel sadness. It’s like, when she is happy, I’m happy. When she is sad, I’m sad. I think there was really a connection between me and what the character was going through. I also love how adventurous she is which doesn’t stop her in her journey of finding his father even though there are so many obstacles happening which almost hinders them from their ultimate goal.

I also love Oliver even though he was sometimes annoying. But hey, people can get really annoying in real life, aren’t they? But I really love his connection with Alice. It’s like opposites-attract-kind-of-thing.

The ending was definitely the best thing in this book. It was so perfect and it made me teary for a sec. I just love this book so much. I know this is a stand alone, but I really wish that there would be a sequel. (Hoping)

Will definitely read Shatter Me because of this book because Tahereh Mafi’s writing style was so amazing and beautiful.

My Rating: 5/5

IMG_1713

Follow Me On:

Instagram | Goodreads

For book review request:

Email: hannabananareads@gmail.com

img_20170228_141123_1

Leave a Reply

