Fantasy · Paranormal · Young Adult

Book Review: Misfit

img_20170228_140135_1

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetTitle: Misfit

Author: Jon Skovron

Series: None

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

ISBN: 9781419700217)

Publishing Date: August 1, 2011

img_20170228_140328_1

Jael Thompson has never really fit in. She’s changed schools too many times to count. The only family she’s ever known is her father, a bitter ex-priest who never lets her date and insists she attend the strictest Catholic school in Seattle. And her mother—well, she was a five thousand year old demon. That doesn’t exactly help.

But on her sixteenth birthday, her father gives her a present that brings about some unexpected changes. Some of the changes, like strange and wonderful powers and the cute skater boy with a knack for science, are awesome. But others, like the homicidal demon seeking revenge on her family? Not so much.

Steeped in mythology, this is an epic tale of a heroine who balances old world with new, science with magic, and the terrifying depths of the underworld with the ordinary halls of high school.

Visit “Misfit” on Goodreads

img_20170228_140350_1_1

“The stuff you do is way more important than the stuff you believe.”

I love this book and it was definitely an interesting read for me. I really love that is about a half human-half demon girl who discovers what she is, what she is capable of and more importantly the past that resulted in her present life. I also love how the past and present connects with each other in the book by using backstories throughout.

The amazing thing that I really appreciate in this book are the characters which has its references from history, religion and mythology. If I’m not reading the book, I am out searching the internet about the other characters mentioned in the book which is great because I kept on learning new amazing things.

I also love Jon Skovron’s writing style, dark but quirky and kept me on the edge of my sit. It kept me guessing on what is going to happen next and never disappointed.

Lastly, I enjoyed how our main character, Jael, blossomed and grow into this strong character with emotions that even I can relate to. I also find it interesting how independent she was and how she never stopped from seeking out the truth about her identity. There was also great character development from the other characters as well.

The only problem I had with this is that I struggled on the few first chapters of the book because I cannot feel the third person point if view of this book until I get the hang of it and became more interested. I also wish there was a sequel. (Hoping) I just want to know what happens to her next.

My Rating: 4/5

images_2

Follow Me On:

Instagram | Goodreads

For book review request:

Email: hannabananareads@gmail.com

img_20170228_141123_1

Leave a Reply

