Fantasy · Retelling · Young Adult

Book Review: Dorothy Must Die

img_20170228_140135_1

Processed with VSCO

 

Title: Dorothy Must Die

Author: Danielle Page

Series: Dorothy Must Die

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

ISBN: 9780062280671

Publishing Date: April 1, 2014

 

img_20170228_140328_1

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Visit “Dorothy Must Die” on Goodreads

img_20170228_140350_1_1

“You don’t need wheels on your house to get somewhere better. All you need is something to give you that extra push.”

 

I enjoyed reading Dorothy Must Die even though there are some parts that I did not like. It was easy for me to be engaged in the world that the author build because I have read and watch the original Wizard of Oz many times. I think if you don’t know anything about Oz, it might be hard for you to understand some concepts in the book. I suggest you read some information or facts regarding the original Wizard of Oz so that you wouldn’t have to struggle in understanding the book.

Danielle Paige really did a good job in turning our well known Oz into a dark and creepy place which you surely don’t want to go to. The Oz we know is now taken control by evil. *Evil Laugh* It was also full of magic and well, gore stuffs which is awesome!

I also like how she portrayed each character. She gave them their own personalities. All of them, Dorothy, the Scarecrow, the Tin Man and the Lion, was so unrecognizable. They are all turned into this monster-hearted persons which makes the story more interesting.

I definitely love Amy Gumm’s background story where she thinks she lost all hope because of her mother living her in the middle of a tornado. It broke my heart. I can feel everything she was feeling at that point. But this was the reason she blossomed and grow into this amazing character. She was strong and an epitome of kindness.

I also love how I really hated Dorothy, well, in a good way. She was not the Dorothy we all know. She turned into this evil thing that I can’t compare to anything. I just want to smack her in the face and stab her with a knife. Seriously. I just hated her character. That is how truly engaged I was in this book. Why she turned evil? Go check out the book yourselves. *evil smile*

If there are things I like, there are also other things that I did not like about it. Some parts of the story was slow and sometimes it gets a little boring. It was an up and down ride for me. Sometimes, I’m on the edge of my seat on what is going to happen next but then again, there are times I almost want to skip reading other pages.

I also did not like the romance here. Yes, there was no love triangle which I find really cliche, which is a good thing but I think the romance or the love interest was not necessary. There are a lot of things going on maybe that is why I find the romance just an add on.

Lastly, the ending was not my most favorite. Well, I really did not like it. I really can’t accept that ending. I just wish there was more. I have waited for something big to happen but it didn’t live up to my expectations. Still, I think I might give the second book in the series a chance because I did kind of like the concept and maybe it becomes more better and more interesting than the first book.

I want to give this a 4/5 stars but that ending really ruined it for me.

 

My Rating: 3.5/5

images_3

Follow Me On:

Instagram | Goodreads

For book review request:

Email: hannabananareads@gmail.com

img_20170228_141123_1

Leave a Reply

