Dystopia · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Under Ground

img_20170228_140135_1

Processed with VSCO

 

Title: Under Ground

Author: Alice Rachel

Series: Under Ground

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

ISBN: 9781507532898

Publishing Date: October 30, 2015

 

img_20170228_140328_1

Love is a taboo, a mere fantasy— foreign, unreachable, and dangerous.

Raised in a society where women have no rights, seventeen-year-old Thia Clay holds little hope for a bright future. When her parents sell her into marriage to elite member William Fox, Thia slowly gives in to despair. William is nothing but a cruel, selfish young man with no other interest than to serve his own.

Born illegally and forced to hide from the authorities his entire life, nineteen-year-old Chi Richards is an active member of the Underground—a rebellious group seeking to overthrow the government.

Chi only has one goal—to rescue his parents from the work camp they were forced into.

Meeting Thia was never part of the plan, and neither was falling in love with her.

If caught in their forbidden relationship, Thia and Chi could face a death sentence, and when devastating secrets surface from Chi’s past, Thia has to rely on her instincts to make a choice that could save her or destroy her forever.

Visit “Under Ground” on Goodreads

img_20170228_140350_1_1

My heart is an ocean of sorrows slowly drowning me, and I let it.

First of all. I want to thank Author Alice Rachel for providing me a copy of her book. God bless and more power to you. (But this doesn’t affect my opinion in any way.)

Now moving on to my review, I love Under Ground so much. I thought it was going to be your typical YA Romance but no, it is definitely not your typical YA Romance. I really have high hopes for this book because of it’s high rating on goodreads and because I always see this book on bookstagram and honestly saying, it really live up to my expectations.

I struggled on embracing this dystopian world the author created on the first few chapters of the book since its main focus was the life of the main character, Thia. This was the reason I find it a bit slow paced at first. Maybe because she was living an unhappy life at the beginning of the story. But as I move on to more chapters, I get to understand the society and the world she lives in. I get to know how their society developed into this world where women and the poor are treated badly after a catastrophic disaster hits. It made the whole book interesting and  so intriguing. Everything just fits together.

There was also so much emotions portrayed on this book. I can totally feel what the characters are feeling especially, Thia and Chi. Their character was so amazing and beautifully built. I also love how the author created each character their own personal  story to struggle with especially in a cruel world that they are living in. It just makes them more human and more believable.

I also enjoyed how Thia and Chi’s relationship developed overtime. Yes, it is a forbidden romance which totally breaks my heart but also makes me want to love. You know what I mean? I just love them both and I just want them both to be together. (Fangirl feels)

The whole book was amazing and easily understandable. Sometimes it drags but it definitely does not affect the whole experience. I surely recommend this to people who loves dystopian novels and especially to those people who love romance.

It is also free on ibooks and on amazon. Go check it out and “Join the Rebellion!”

My Rating: 4/5

IMG_1714

Follow Me On:

Instagram | Goodreads

For book review request:

Email: hannabananareads@gmail.com

img_20170228_141123_1

Leave a Reply

