Science Fiction · Young Adult

Book Review: I Want Superpowers

img_20170228_140135_1

Processed with VSCO

 

Title: I Want Superpowers

Author: Steven Bereznai

Series: None

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult

ISBN: 9780973292886

Publishing Date: November 26, 2016

 

img_20170228_140328_1

The Genetic Wars that turned most of the planet into a wasteland are over. The so-called “dregs” (short for “DNA regulars”) and superpowered “Supergenics” now live separately from each other: the Supergenics in the shiny towers of Jupitar City, the dregs across the river in the squat concrete buildings of the boroughs. But Supergenic children are still born to dreg parents, and under repressive laws must be sent to live with their own kind. To find these special few, every teen faces their Testing Day. When her turn comes, socially isolated Caitlin Feral is determined to Manifest superpowers. If she fails, she faces a lifetime of loneliness and drudgery in the boroughs. But how much is she willing to sacrifice to be the supergirl she’s always wanted to be? And when she uncovers dark secrets kept by both sides, does she dare start another war to reveal the truth?

Goodreads

img_20170228_140350_1_1

I know my review of this book is long due because I have finished this a long time ago but better late than never right?

Disclaimer: An ebook copy was provided to me by the author but this does not affect my opinion in anyway.

First of all, I want to thank Author Steven Bereznai for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. He is so nice and very approachable.

Now to my review. The writing of this book is just amazing. It was so engaging and it kept me at the edge of my sit everytime I read. It was full of action and it really has a unique plot. I myself would really want this book to be turned into a movie because it was just different from the superhero movies/comics/books people are reading and watching nowadays.

The world building of this books was really on point. It has an amazing description of how their world looks like and it clearly explained what was happening to their lives and their government. This made me understand everything so easily and the flow of the story was just perfect. Nothing was confusing unlike other books that I have read.

The characters have their own personalities which is really evident but unfortunately, I didn’t really connect with our main character. Maybe because we really have different personalities. I hate how stubborn she was and how she treated her mother. That ain’t how you talk to your mother girl! But I really love Norman personality. He was so mysterious which gave him more of an edge compared to Caithlin.

Other than that there was nothing more to complain about this book. It was a quick read but still enjoyable. Plus the ending of this book was just awesome. I was not expecting any of those things to happen. It was mind blowing. But why was the ending such a cliffhanger? Will there be a sequel? I wish there would be one. I really want to know more about them!

If you are into Science fiction/ Superheroes, you should definitely read this. I would totally recommend it to everyone! I hope you will enjoy it as i have.

Order your copies now: Amazon / Barnes and Noble

My Rating: 4/5

IMG_1714

Follow Me On:

Instagram | Goodreads

For Book Review Request:

Email: hannabananareads@gmail.com

img_20170228_141123_1

 

Leave a Reply

